Dark Road Home

Two decades after she left Ireland, Leah Ryan is back. 

She knows she won’t get a welcome reception in her home town of Dungarry, but she’s finally ready to face up to the events that forced her to leave as a teenager. But another tragedy is waiting for Leah when she arrives in Dungarry. Her first love, Eamon Lonergan,  has been found brutally murdered.  

At first, Eamon’s murder appears unrelated to Leah’s past.  But in a small town like Dungarry, everything is connected and everyone has secrets. Sometimes there’s only one way to ensure the truth stays buried. 

A tense and emotional thriller set in Ireland. Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan and Patricia Gibney.


Out on 18 April and available to pre-order from Amazon, Kobo and all good bookshops.

‘Imagine a collaboration between Ann Tyler and AM Homes.’ Ken Bruen

Sheila Bugler author

Meet Sheila

Thank you so much for visiting my website. I love hearing from readers, so feel free to drop me an email from the ‘contact’ page (see menu).

I started writing crime fiction seventeen years ago, while on maternity leave with my second child. I foolishly thought I’d get a book written while I was on leave and I’d never have to go back to my day job.

Things didn’t quite turn out that way. My first novel, Hunting Shadows, was published six years later, and I’m still doing the day job!

I’ve had nine books published so far (and I’ve written several that were never published). Dark Road Home, my tenth novel, will be published on 18 April this year. 

Writing fiction is the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but it’s also the most rewarding. I’ve started an occasional series of writing tips on my blog, sharing some of the things I’ve learned over the seventeen years I’ve been writing. 

Featured books

The Dee Doran novels

My crime series based in beautiful Eastbourne, featuring investigative journalist Dee Doran. All books in the series are currently available on special offer over at Amazon

Stay connected

Get instant access to the latest news, blog posts and special promotions by connecting with Sheila on social media.

Join Sheila's mailing list

Join now for exclusive access to Sheila’s latest news, blog posts,
special announcements and book promotions straight to your inbox.